HOLIDAY GREETINGS 2012

One of the frustrations that fiction writers share is the assumption by readers that everything an author writes is autobiographical. To some extent that is true. As Colin Dexter, creator of Inspector Morse said, “Well, unless one is a genius, which I am not, a writer will tend in many respects to be semi-autobiographical in the delineation of the character and temperament of the…hero.” But as an author, you also realize early on, especially if your character is a child molesting serial killer, for example, that he or she will be, thankfully, quite unlike you. Dexter added this, as well then, about Inspector Morse: “He was in no way likely to be confused with the description I once gave myself: ‘short, fat, bald and deaf.’”

I mention this because in my holiday novella, Christmas Story which you can read for free on my web site, warnerbbairii.com (commercial, commercial!), my protagonist, Anon, does a little parody on the Christmas letter that so many people include with their Christmas cards where they tell you all about their last year’s activities.

I want to assure you that I’m not Anon and I welcome receiving your letters and Christmas cards. Although Kathy and I seem to be on the road most holidays, visiting children (and now, thankfully, grandchildren) and therefore don’t routinely send out cards, we do appreciate receiving them from you.

Therefore, I use this forum as an opportunity to thank all of you who routinely follow my musings on this blog, who read my novels and otherwise give a damn about us. We feel the same about each of you and appreciate hearing from you.

Merry Christmas and may all of you have a good new year.

One thought on “HOLIDAY GREETINGS 2012

Leave a Reply

